Clearly I’m Awesome

I took the day off of work today to prepare for the next couple days at the BlogHer Convention. This mostly involves doing laundry, cleaning out my purse and polishing my nails. I’m pretty sure I’ll be the most relaxed person there because I don’t have much by way of expectations. I just want to meet smart people and have fun.  I don’t even have a pitch prepared because I’m not a good enough writer (yet) for a book deal.

I’ve been fascinated by the attendees’ Facebook posts and have been following them closely. It seems that there will be about 3,000 anxious but incredibly talented and creative women attending this conference. Many of their posts are about how afraid they are they won’t make friends. I’m pretty sure that any woman sitting by herself will quickly be approached by someone and fast friends will be made. I’m considering testing this theory by actively trying NOT to make friends. I could skip showering, look surly and hiss at anyone who approaches me. I bet I would still walk out of there with a dozen new buddies. But, we’ll never know because there’s no freaking way I’m gonna do that!

One thing that I need to do is turn my blurry, shitty business cards into paper awesomeness. I’m about a third of the way through that:

Do not adjust your screen - this is how they really look.
Do not adjust your screen – this is how they really look.

And this is how I made them awesome…

IMAG0918 IMAG0917 IMAG0916 IMAG0915 IMAG0914 IMAG0919

C’mon, you know you want one!!!

2 thoughts on “Clearly I’m Awesome

  1. I was going through the dozens and dozens of cards piled up in my suitcase and, when I got to yours, I remember your voice saying how crappy they looked. Then I turned it around and saw the “please be my friend” handwritten inscription and it made me smile…so here I am….a new friend from LA!

Leave a Reply

