I don’t want to move to Canada.

I’m terrified. I feel like I’m going to have an ulcer by the time this election is over.

At this moment, the majority of people likely to vote in this country would prefer a narcissistic salesman with no concept of how the government works to a woman who has actual political experience.

That seems to be the main concern voters have with Hillary – she is part of the establishment. Nothing epitomizes people’s disgust with the establishment more than the the political diarrhea Debbie Wasserman Schultz’s emails spewed on Bernie Sanders. The emails confirmed his supporters belief that the election system is rigged and it’s hard to argue with them.

These weren’t Hillary Clinton’s emails but it will be assumed she was complicit in the attacks. After all: emails = Clinton. amiright? No, of course I’m not. But why should truth matter?

Under normal circumstances (i.e. a rational, qualified Republican candidate), I would understand the many Sanders supporters who refuse to vote for Clinton. But this is not a normal election year. This election is completely and totally bonkers. And the future of this country and this world is at stake.

In 2000 I voted for Ralph Nader because I believed there was no difference between Democrats and Republicans. Boy was I wrong. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t regret my vote.

I understand the anti-establishment sentiment but let’s not throw experience completely out the window. The baby and the bathwater so to speak. Remember when California voted Arnold Schwarzenegger as Governor? He promised to fix everything too. He did not. Things sucked until Jerry Brown, a career politician, became governor. He knew how to use his political experience to make real, positive changes in the state.

Will Hillary Clinton be able to do that? I don’t know. I hope so.

People call her a liar and she certainly has been somewhat less than honest about a few things. But I’ll tell you this: I’d rather have a competent liar in office than an incompetent, bottom-feeding blowhard. 

And here’s what I like best about Hillary Clinton: She won’t make the planet explode. I can’t say that about the Republican nominee.

My husband’s family is from Canada and we’ve jokingly talked about moving there if things go badly here in November. But I don’t actually want to move. First of all, I hate the cold. Secondly, I like it right where we are. Perhaps I might consider a move to New Zealand though… I’m sure the politics are not divided there at all.

Leave a Reply

